• The Upper Merion Area Middle School Special Education Department provides a quality individualized education to students with specific academic, emotional, social and/or physical needs in a safe and stimulating environment. We believe that all students can learn and provide students with supports and services to ensure that they remain in their least restrictive environment. Our middle school staff strives to have all students reach their maximum potential academically, socially, and emotionally while learning to be a productive member of their community.

     

    At the Upper Merion Area Middle School, we:

    *use data driven decision-making to improve teacher practices, student engagement and student achievement

    * utilize Differentiated Instruction in order to meet the needs of all students

    * integrate Character throughout our Curriculum and Activities through Community of Caring

    * offer our students ways to connect with peers through extra-curricular organizations, clubs, intramurals and athletics

     
    Who to contact if you have concerns with your child’s IEP:

     

    Case Manager (Special Education Teacher)

     

     5th Grade Co-Taught:

     Tara Bacani

     Casey Curry 

     

     5th and 6th Resource Room:

    Kelly Barber

    Bevin Harris

     6th Grade Co-Taught:

    Angela DiPasquale

    Jessica Kostrzewski

     7th Grade Co-Taught:

     

    7th Grade Resource Room:

    Christine Schmolz

     

    8th Grade Co-Taught & Resouce Room:

    Stephen Piazza

    Lori Werner

     

    LIFE Program ( Learning In a Functional Environment):

    -John Armenio jarmenio@umasd.org

    -Alexis Kreckmann 

     

    -Rich Lindelow rlindelow@umasd.org

    -Megan Lindsey

     

    Behavioral Support Specialist:

    -John Funk jfunk@umasd.org

     

     

    Speech and Language:

    -Meghan Dreyfus mdreyfus@umasd.org

    -Shannon Lemke (McKay) slemke@umasd.org

     

    Occupational Therapy:

    -Mark Pieninck mpieninck@umasd.org

    -Katie Alexander kalexander@umasd.org

     

    Physical Therapy:

    -Francis Krouse

     

     Guidance Counselors:

    Dave Burns dburns@umasd.org

    Kim Corbi kcorbi@umasd.org

    Amanda Donahue adonahue@umasd.org

    Kara Howell khowell@umasd.org

     

    School Psychologist:

    Ro Foote rfoote@umasd.org

     

    School Social Worker:

    Patricia Davis padavis@umasd.org

     

    Supervisor of Special Education:

     Staci Futrick

     

    Director of Pupil Services:  

     John Moody